Sally Buffalo Park

A full service metro park with RV and tent camping, cabins, fishing, picnic shelters, swimming beach, party barn, and a banquet hall.  

 

Route 9

Cadiz, Ohio  43907

740-942-3213

http://pages.eohio.net/sallybuffalo

 

 

Sally Buffalo Park is located off State Route 9 in Cadiz, Ohio on land that was once a vibrant working plantation of the early 1800s. The neighboring hillsides were surface mined for coal in the1950s, nearly a century after the plantation ceased operation. Hanna Coal Company built the existing dam in 1953 to reclaim the land and develop it into a park,
initially to provide their employees with a place to camp for free. The park was named and opened to the public in 1965. Hanna Coal was purchased by Consol, Inc. in the 1970s, and the park changed ownership several times until The
Village of Cadiz purchased it in 1990. A Park Board was created in1992 and now jointly governs Sally Buffalo Park with the Village of Cadiz. The park has steadily developed into a source of great pride for the Village and surrounding area. It provides many amenities that make even a small family picnic a truly memorable experience.

 

 

 

 

Congratulations to Kay Sedgmer, Allen Bobot, and everyone who contributed to the restoration of the beautiful 1800s log school house, full of history, that has been located to Sally Buffalo Park.  

Built around 1800, by Thomas and Mary Thompson on their farm just east of Cadiz, this log building has served many purposes throughout its existence, including being one of the first subscription schools in this area.  The Thompson’s daughter, Nancy, served as the school’s only teacher. In 1964, Margaret Mattern Johnson, great, great granddaughter of Nancy Thompson Baker, donated the log structure to the Harrison County Historical Society.  Dismantled and relocated from Mrs. Johnson’s farm to its current site by the former Hanna Coal Company, the structure struggled through years of neglect.  Fundraising efforts spearheaded by Kay Sedgmer, and the talented restoration efforts of Allen Bobot have saved the humble structure, helping preserve a piece of local history for future generations to enjoy.

 

 

 

Did you know??

 

How did Sally Buffalo get its name??

John McFadden Sr., a veteran of the Revolution, settled in Harrison County and developed his “plantation” comprised of a 640 acre tract that   he cleared for a farm, a distillery, and a horse powered Saw-Mill.  In 1835, he left a portion of that plantation (now included in this park) to his son, Samuel Buffalo McFadden, whose unusual    middle name came from the place of his birth at the headwaters of Buffalo Creek in Pennsylvania.  Samuel took a wife, Sally, and shortly thereafter built a grist mill that was powered by the waters of the Indian Creek whose main tributaries now drain the western environs of Cadiz and form the major lakes of the park.  To commemorate the union of Sally and Buffalo McFadden, both the stream and mill that served it became known as Sally Buffalo.  That name was preserved for the park to bridge its rich heritage with  the present.